Love Lived and Lost

Over the past few days, I’ve had a lot of time to consider the direction I’m taking in my life..and I realized that I deserve a lot more respect from those I care about than I am receiving. And it just broke my heart to feel so rejected, lost, and tossed away. 

However, tonight I set myself free of those chains-rejection, hopelessness-and confronted those who treat me like I am less. To them I said:

“I’ve been some rough things in my life. I’ve been beaten down, torn up, thrown away, and forgotten. And I used to think that I deserved to be treated that way. Like, how can someone like me deserve better? A manic depressive recovering anorexic. But this year, I’ve reflected and realized that I deserve so much better. I deserve the love that I give to others willingly and joyfully-without question. I deserve to be treated with respect from all those I give the time and every to reach out to and build a relationship with (platonic or romantic). I deserve to be loved, I deserve to be cared about, I deserve a second as a thought in someone’s mind. I am better than this. I am better than how you treat me. I am better.”

Because I am better. Some love can stand a lifetime. Some love must be lived and lost because those who don’t understand how to appreciate the little things, must be forgotten. 

5 thoughts on “Love Lived and Lost

Leave a Reply

